home what we fund past grantees application contact us
border

San Francisco, CA
Photo courtesy of WRAP

Left Tilt proudly supports the Western Regional Advocacy Program [WRAP]. Through community organizing, legal advocacy, education, and other means, WRAP is waging campaigns to increase federal funding for affordable housing and to combat the civil and human rights abuses suffered by poor and homeless people. Learn more at www.wraphome.org.

Ho rses
Photo courtesy of Peter Honigsberg

Left Tilt was an early supporter of Witness to Guantanamo, the only project documenting the experiences of Guantanamo Bay detainees. The project exposes the human rights abuses suffered by former detainees and serves as an essential resource for historians, legal advocates, and other activists. Learn more at www.witnesstoguantanamo.com.

Open Space
Photo courtesy of AROC

Left Tilt supports the Arab Resource and Organizing Center [AROC], a grassroots organization working to empower and organize the Arab community towards justice and self-determination through leadership development, political education, and campaigns. Learn more at www.araborganizing.org.

Orchids
Photo courtesy of COMPPA

Left Tilt supports COMPPA’s efforts to strengthen the media capacity of indigenous and campesino communities in Mexico, Guatemala, and Honduras. Through training and infrastructure development, numerous communities and organizations are challenging corporate-dominated media with alternative grassroots information. Learn more at www.comppa.com.

 

Open Space
Photo courtesy of Olympia-Rafah Solidarity Mural Project

Left Tilt proudly supports A Tale of Two Cities: Olympia- Rafah Solidarity Mural Project (co-produced by Break the Silence Mural and Arts Project and Rachel Corrie Foundation for Peace and Justice). A collective effort of over 150 groups from around the world, the project honors those who have lost their lives striving for liberation and makes visible organizations and individuals who dare to imagine a different world. Learn more at olympiarafahmural.org

2016 Cycle One Grantees Website Grant Amount
Abolitionist Law Center www.abolitionistlawcenter.org $5,000
American Friends of Neve Shalom www.oasisofpeace.org $10,000
Arab Resource and Organizing Center www.araborganizing.org $10,000
Art Forces www.artforces.org $10,000
Avenue 50 Studio www.avenue50studio.org $10,000
BAY Peace: Better Alternatives for Youth www.baypeace.org $10,000
California Coalition for Women Prisoners www.womenprisoners.org $10,000
Causa Justa :: Just Cause www.cjjc.org $10,000
Center for Participatory Change http://www.cpcwnc.org/ $5,000
Center for Worker Justice of Eastern Iowa www.cwjiowa.org/ $7,500
Coalition on Homelessness www.cohsf.org $10,000
Community Action Fund for Women in Africa www.cafwa.org $5,000
Critical Resistance criticalresistance.org $10,000
Dakota Rural Action www.dakotarural.org $7,500
Equilibrio Women’s Worker Center www.equilibrionorte.org/womens-worker-center $10,000
Fair Chance Project www.fairchanceproject.com $10,000
Fort Collins Community Action Network www.fccan.org $5,000
Hand in Hand: the Domestic Employers’ Network www.domesticemployers.org $20,000
Hilltop Artists in Residence www.hilltopartists.org $10,000
Idaho Organization of Resource Councils www.iorc.org $5,000
Institute of Local Self Reliance www.ilsr.org $10,000
Jewish Voice for Peace www.jewishvoiceforpeace.org $20,000
Jews for Racial and Economic Justice www.jfrej.org $10,000
Justice Committee www.justicecommittee.org $10,000
Migrant Justice/Justicia Migrante www.migrantjustice.net $10,000
Justice Committee www.justicecommittee.org $10,000
Labor Community Strategy Center www.thestrategycenter.org/ $50,000
Latino Union of Chicago www.latinounion.org/ $10,000
Liberation Theatre Company www.liberationtheatrecompany.org $10,000
Miami Workers Center www.miamiworkerscenter.org $10,000
Middle East Children’s Alliance www.www.mecaforpeace.org $30,000
Minnesota Prison Writing Workshop www.mnprisonwriting.org $5,000
Mizna www.mizna.org $5,000
MN350 www.mn350.org $5,000
The Movement Theatre Company www.themovementtheatrecompany.org $5,000
Mujeras Unidas y Activas www.mujeresunidas.net $20,000
New Start Project www.newstartproject.org $5,000
No More Deaths www.nomoredeaths.org $10,000
Oaktown Jazz Workshops www.www.oaktownjazz.org $10,000
Northern Plains Resource Council www.northernplains.org $10,000
Powder River Basin Resource Council www.powderriverbasin.org $7,500
Picture the Homeless www.picturethehomeless.org $10,000
Prison Radio www.prisonradio.org $5,000
Project Avary www.projectavary.org $5,000
Sylvia Rivera Law Project www.srlp.org $10,000
Socially Relevant Film Festival www.ratedsrfilms.org $5,000
Standing Against Foreclosure and Eviction www.safeinseattle.org/ $5,000
Sea Tangle: Songs from the North www.smarenmontalbano.com/sea-tangle-album-project-songs/ $2,000
Sins Invalid www.sinsinvalid.org/ $20,000
Southern Maine Workers Center www.maineworkers.org/ $5,000
Southern Sudanese Development Association www.ssccsd.org/ $5,000
Texas Tenants Union www.txtenants.org/ $7,500
Theatre of the Oppressed NYC www.tonyc.nyc/ $10,000
United Hispanic Workers Detroit www.uhwd.org/ $5,000
United Students Against Sweatshops www.usas.org/ $10,000
United Taxi Workers of San Diego www.utwsd.org/ $10,000
United Workers Association www.unitedworkers.org/ $10,000
We Count! www.we-count.org/ $7,500
Workers Dignity Project www.workersdignity.org/ $10,000

Past Grantees